Course Duration

We are proud to offer three options for our students to become a Registered Dental Assistant:

3-Week
Monday-Friday Program

A full-time program meeting Monday-Friday for three weeks.

10-Week
Evening Program

A part-time evening program meeting Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings for ten weeks.

10-Week
Saturday Program

A part-time program meeting every Saturday for ten weeks.

Hour Requirements

Each course is comprised of 120 total hours, including 24 hours of radiology training as required by the State of Tennessee, as well as CPR certification.

Admission Requirements

Students wishing to enroll in the Registered Dental Assistant program must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older, as required by the Tennessee State Board
  • Have a high school diploma and a transcript or G.E.D.
  • Be in good standing with no criminal record
  • Be willing to work with patients while giving the best patient care possible

Course Dates 2021

3-Week Courses

Meets M|T|W|Th|F, 8am–5pm

January 11–January 29
February 8–February 26
March 8–March 26
April 5–April 23
May 3–May 21
June 1–June 18
July 6–July 23
August 2–August 20
August 30–September 17
September 27–October 15
November 1–November 19
November 29–December 17

Holidays: January 18, May 31, July 5, September 6


10-Week Evening Courses

Meets T|W|Th, 5:30pm–9:30pm

January 19–March 25
April 6–June 10
July 13–September 16
September 28th–December 16

Holidays: November 23, 24, 25


10-Week Saturday Courses

Meets Saturdays 7:00am–7:00pm

February 13–April 17
April 24–June 26
July 17–September 25
October 2–December 18

Holidays: July 3, July 10, September 3, November 27


Registration

Course Outline

Goal

The goal of this course is to teach students the basic requirements, in conjunction with the state laws of Tennessee, to become a knowledgeable dental assistant who can be employed in the modern dental office. This includes teaching them to be proficient in all areas of taking and mounting patient x-rays. Upon successful completion of a final exam given by TNPTI, students will receive a Certificate of Completion from TNPTI. The documentation and license fee is then mailed by TNPTI to the State of TN Dental Board which will send the student a license with the designation of “Registered Dental Assistant.”

Learning Objectives

Over the course of each of our programs, students will learn:

  • Four-handed dental assisting techniques
  • Dental terminology and the Universal Numbering System
  • How to sterilize dental instruments and equipment
  • How to take impressions and pour patient models
  • How to give patient post-op instructions and home care
  • How to take notes in the patient’s chart
  • How to take patient radiographs in compliance with the State of Tennessee’s requirements for certification
  • How to write a resume and interview for a dental assisting position
  • Personality types in the dental practice
  • How to assist on composite and amalgam patient procedures
  • How to assist on cleaning and exam procedures
  • Identifying dental instruments
  • Completing tray set ups
  • How to assist on endodontic procedures
  • How to assist on extraction procedures
  • How to assist on Oral Surgery procedures
  • Crown Preps
  • Dental procedures & diagnosis
  • Understanding American Dental Association codes
  • Understanding insurance terminology
  • How to take a patient’s blood pressure
  • Medications used in a dental practice
  • How to respond in case of a dental or medical emergency
  • CPR certification
  • Radiology certification

Instructional Materials

The $4,999 tuition includes all materials and equipment needed for class.

Students are required to purchase their own scrubs (we recommend the purchase of black scrubs) and the textbook, Modern Dental Assisting (Bird and Robinson), 10th Edition or later (hardback).

Attendance Requirement

The TN Professional Training Institute’s Dental Assisting Program is an accelerated program and we strongly encourage students to attend all class meetings. However, each program has a predefined amount of time students are allowed to miss if they contact their instructor at least one day before the class, and students are required to reschedule a make-up day to review and practice missed materials. Students who miss more than the predefined amount of time will be dismissed and may be moved to the next session at the discretion of the instructor.

TNPTI offers its students the opportunity to have optional and flexible additional lab practice time, in addition to your class time hours, Monday to Saturday, when discussed and arranged with your instructor in advance

Grading Policy

Students are required to maintain an 80% average to pass this course. If an 80% average is not maintained, students may have to repeat materials before completing the course.

Course Information

Instructor: Staff

Location:  1819 Memorial Blvd., Murfreesboro, TN 37129

Telephone:  615-631-8440

Email:  [email protected]

Hour Requirements: Each course is comprised of 120 total hours, including 24 hours of radiology training as required by the State of Tennessee, as well as CPR certification.

Lab Hours: Extra lab practice is available Monday through Saturday. Please contact your instructor to schedule an appointment for extra lab practice.

Graduation Ceremony: TBD with class.


Catalog